Dental students, do you actually enjoy dental school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zammyd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
How has dental school been so far, and how much have you enjoyed it?

Members don't see this ad.

Does anyone enjoy "sipping water from a fire hydrant?"

Reactions: 12 users
Does anyone enjoy "sipping water from a fire hydrant?"

This has to be an exaggeration...

In high school, they said that I had to pull all-nighters to survive the honors/AP classes. I never did and I graduated in the top 20% of my class (would have been top 10% but I slacked off major during my first year of high school...got a 3.0 GPA that first year....rough times).

In college, they said that the intro science courses, and especially OChem, would weed you out and make you cry. I slept 8 hrs a night, never felt overwhelmed, and did very well.

Now, they say that in dental school, you will drink water from a fire hydrant and be OMG super-stressed out/THE WORLD IS ENDING/DENTAL SCHOOL IS THE ONLY THING IN YOUR LIFE.

For some reason, I'm not inclined to believe this. You see, people like to inflate the difficulty of things they've done because saying that you've done difficult things earns respect. But the problem is- if you have your priorities straight (which it seems like everyone on SDN does since they care about their future enough to be a part of a pre-professional forum), you can get through dental school without having to sacrifice basic enjoyment.

OP, I'm not a dental student (yet) but I know plenty on a personal level. They are just like you and I. They're not stuck in the library 24/7. Yes dental school has more class-time. They tell me that it's like high school. Go in morning, come out in evening. Low to Medium level of homework (depending on your specialization dreams). Overall, they say not to sweat it.