Dental students with kids

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentalmama

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was looking for some feedback from current dental students regarding students with kids - specifically adolescent kids. I will be attending USC in the fall and have two boys 11 and 14, and would like to know if others have had this situation and how they fared through dental school... I am a non-traditional student (obviously) and I think my kids are old enough to handle it - any feedback?

Members don't see this ad.

I was looking for some feedback from current dental students regarding students with kids - specifically adolescent kids. I will be attending USC in the fall and have two boys 11 and 14, and would like to know if others have had this situation and how they fared through dental school... I am a non-traditional student (obviously) and I think my kids are old enough to handle it - any feedback?
Hi,
You are not alone. I am starting in August at UF and have a 14,6, & 6month. I'll keep you posted If I hear any good tips.

This is a good question, Dentalmama. I think it's great that you're working towards dental school and wanting to do what's best for your family! I don't know how well-behaved your kids are, but if they are good kids they will probably get through your dental school just fine.

I was 11 when my mom went back to school full-time (not dental school, but nursing school). She also worked a full-time job and was a volunteer EMT. This left little time for parenting, so I became very self-sufficient at a young age. I don't know how much different it would be for boys, but those are pretty important years in a girl's life -- I imagine they're similarly formative for boys. I had some abandonment issues with her, but never acted out or anything. I was a good kid and straight-A student, but I raised myself.