Dentist wishing to switch career

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by dudelove, Nov 18, 2002.

1. dudelove

dudelove Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

I have been a practicing dentist for over 3 years now. I,like most dentists, had always wanted to go into medicine, but decided to go into dentistry because it was shorter in terms of residency and you could make a good living. I am not as happy as I know I would have been in medicine. This definitely is not about money and I would like to express that as I make well into six figures. Why you ask would someone want to give up making a good living in a stable job not to mention go back to school again and take all of those courses like gross anatomy, biochem,etc... Well the answer has to do with happiness ,self-fulfillment and wanting to do more for people than fixing teeth.

My questions are the following:

1)Does anyone here know of a dentist who has entered medical school?

2)Would the admissions committees look on me harshly for being a dentsit? Would it hurt or help that I was one

3)I don't remember any chemistry, orgo,physics,etc that I would need for the MCAT. Any suggestions on self study aids?

4) My gpa back in a tier 1 college was 3.61 and science was a 3.46 so is that decent enough to have a chance?

Thanks in advance. I wish there was a support group of people who were thinking about switching careers to medicine.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. lalalala

7+ Year Member

hello, and welcome to SDN!

I don't think I can answer #1 and #2, but for #3 and #4...

I think your gpa sounds fine to me. It would probably be to your benefit to take some current upper-level courses, just to show the adcoms you can handle the material. It will also be helpful for your MCAT preparation. (genetics, biochem, etc.) Of course, you don't have to do this, either.