Department of medicine chair lor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arielred

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a British grad and needless to say my school is not accustomed to giving out lor's from the department chair of medicine. They asked me for some sort of guidance/ template. My department chair had never heard of me by the way and I am now a year removed from graduation. How generic/ spacific is this lor? I read somewhere that they're supposed to put in comments from your clerkships but I thought this info went into the MSPE?? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

The IM chair letter is supposed to be something of a Super-MSPE focused on your IM skills. Kind of halfway between a standard LOR and the MSPE. I think it's a silly throwback to the days when everybody knew everybody.

The IM chair letter is supposed to be something of a Super-MSPE focused on your IM skills. Kind of halfway between a standard LOR and the MSPE. I think it's a silly throwback to the days when everybody knew everybody.

That's very helpful thank you! Although I agree with you I don't really see the point.

Members don't see this ad :)
THe contents of the chair letter vary some depending on the med school...

In general, the letter from the chair contains:

1) A combination of your performance on the rotation (with comments)
2) Results of any medicine test you have have taken (the shelf here in the states)
3) Overall grade in the rotation,
4) Percentile/performance in medicine rotation compared to your peers.

Some will also put personal comments after meeting with them for a sit down interview/chat.

Hope this helps!