Depression over poor HS performance, how can I get over it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Protagonistic

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a first year student at a university ranked tier 4, it is not in the top 100 or top 200 even. When I looked it up on US World News and Report it just said it was "tier 4".

I commute to school (live at home but go to school) and basically the social life at my current university is not that good. Most students who go here transfer to UGA, Georgia Tech or some other bigger university where most students live on dorms.

Here is my story. I used to live in the Northeast area of the US and went to a good elementary school there, I always finished first in my class, I always made 100s on assignments and recently I found out that most of those kids from elementary school (kept in touch with them over facebook) are now in colleges like Harvard, Princeton, Yale, Dartmouth, and Columbia.

Well unfortunately my parent's job brought them down south and they had to live in a county/district where the average family income was around 30k, they couldn't afford a private school so they sent me to a public junior high school. Lets say that junior high was flooded with gangbangers, drug dealers, kids who bragged about having going to Juvenile hall and basically I was in the middle of it all. I was called all sorts of racial slurs, was often picked on for being the kid who cared in his classes and I unfortunately changed. I was bigger than a lot of the kids and most bullying was verbal (rarely physical) but it changed me.

I was able to do good enough to get into a magnet school but my bad junior high school had an influence on my views. I did not do the best my freshman year of high school or my sophomore year (ending both with a 2.8 GPA) and I ended up making 4.0s my junior and senior year. By then it was too late.