Devote the whole summer to mcat studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Trisphorin

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to take the mcat in august 2010. i am currently a sophomore. I am planning on the devote the whole summer after my sophomore year to study mcat along with kaplan courses. by that time, i will be done with a year of organic chemistry, a year of general chemistry, a year of calculus, 3 semesters of biology but only one semester of physics. i go to stony brook which is known for their hardcore premed classes and i did well in those pre med classes.the only concern i have is that in case i don't get the score i want (35+), then i pretty much wasted the summer. I weighting on the options of taking this risky route insted of the more traditional route. the reason why i want to take mcat this early is because i want to get the mcat out of the way while i still rememeber what i learned in those premed classes, so I don't have to end up studying for mcat and classes later on. any advice would be highly appreciated. thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like a good idea to me. It will help you apply early and focus more on your essays. Make sure you volunteer and shadow during the summer, too!

There isn't much from Physics 2 on the MCAT (if you are lucky).