Did anyone keep their books from undergrad & found them helpful in d-school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dds2013

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am currently a senior in undergrad. I will hopefully start d-school next August. I was wondering whether anyone kept their dental school prerequisite books from undergrad, and found them helpful in d-school.

The books that I have and debating whether to sell are: gen chem, orgo chem, physics, gen bio (Campbell), cell bio, genetics, physiology, anatomy, biochemistry, and microbiology.

These books would probably fetch around $800 (with the solution manuals to some of the books). $800 right now seems like a lot of money to me, that however, is chump change in comparison to d-school tuition and expenses. I do not want to get to d-school and realize “I should have kept my orgo book”.

So, do you guys think I should keep all the books, sell all the books, or sell some and keep some? If you think I should sell some and keep some, please let me know which ones I should keep.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

In my opinion, sell em all. When you get to dental school they will give you more than you want to read and learn at one time anyway, no need to reference, and if you do, you have an abundance of dental school books to look at.
Good luck on admission next year.

I'm a D1. Thus far, there have been times when I would have loved to have had my Cell and Molec textbook (which I sold soon after finishing my post-bacc), but it didn't go into the level of detail required in my dental school classes. It would've been useful, but not so useful that I seriously regret having sold it.

I have never missed my books for the basic four pre-reqs (gen chem, gen bio, orgo, and physics). If you forget something and end up needing to know it, it's usually available on the Internet.