Did I hurt my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TAPeds18

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that it is generally a bad idea to be dead set on a specific area of medicine and talk about it in your applications, but I feel like I may have an unusual situation. I am a nurse, and have experience in different areas through my clinical rotations in school, and through my work experience. I have found an area that I love, and am very passionate about. My passion for my group of patients is one of the reasons I decided to go back to medical school. I feel like I could do a lot more for my patients as a doctor. My personal statement was about my chosen field, and I talked about it in my interviews. Do you think this was a bad idea and hurt my chances? I had no acceptances this round, and only one wait-list, and I am trying to think of things I could do differently for the next application cycle.

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe the major root of your problems is a combination of GPA/MCAT and schools applied to?

Also, I've read posts here in the past that say nursing degrees are kinda frowned upon compared to normal bachelor degrees. I don't know how true that is but just throwing it out there.

Yes. How many interviews did you receive? If you received many interviews, but no interest it's likely your interview skills are at fault. If you weren't invited for many interviews your personal statement (and your specific interests) may be more to blame. Want to know for sure? Call the schools and find out.
Yeah, check every school you applied to and see what they say the reason was you were not accepted. Since you don't provide a school list or your stats, it could be anything from applying unrealistically to simply have too low of stats.

Members don't see this ad :)