1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

did poorly as undergrad, but going to grad school - thoughts on getting in?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by tommy82, May 10, 2007.

1. tommy82

i will graduate with a BS in biology @ ogpa 2.5. i have been doing research for a professor for 2 years and will ask him for a paying position in his lab. hopefully i can get my act together, do very well on GRES and get into graduate school.

if by doing extremely well in grad school (3.5+), and applying to pharm school after ... will they look more heavily at my undergrad or grad grades? i plan on getting a research article published with my name in it.

basically i would like to apply to pharm school asap, but find it highly unlikely to get in with a 2.5. i feel that by doing a masters, i will gain more experience and be able to show i'm a much better/changed student.

why a low gpa? didn't have a sense of direction and never thought of myself doing post-bac schooling. the real world was a nice swift kick in the balls.

edit: there was one quarter where i basically didn't take any finals, so i received F's in all those courses. yea my undergrad grades do not reflect very well

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. bsps_2007

bsps_2007 Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pharmacist