This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

propsych

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to this site and would like to ask for your critique and guidance!

I am an undergraduate student (going into senior year)majoring in psychology and minoring in survey research and natural sciences, who has had a rough few years in college(many reasons) and ended up with a 2.1 GPA. Since last semester my GPA has jumped to a 2.7 and within the next year I should be able to reach at least a 3.0 ( I am getting straight A's in every class thus far and have a 4.0 in my psych major).

I have yet to take the GRE and plan to do so after I get my undergraduate degree, leaving a year between graduation and grad school.

Since last semester I have also joined a research lab and have been working really hard there:
and am now a co-team leader,
am 6th author on an APS poster
2nd author on an oral presentation at a smaller event
3rd author on a poster at a smaller event at my college
1st author on a poster at a smaller event at my college
I will also most likely be 4th author on a publication (this is currently in the works ).

This summer I am developing the new iteration of a study and will be working on the study next semester.
Hopefully this will lead to more posters and ideally another publication. Currently I am also applying to the REU research program and will most likely be working in my current lab on a presentation for that/getting a stipend for my research work.

Next semester I will also begin to volunteer at a mental health facility in my community.

My goal is to be accepted into a Clinical Psychology Phd program that focuses on both research and clinical practice ( I don't want to go for a Psy.D as I won't be able to afford it)
Ideally I want to avoid going to get a Master's after I graduate due to personal, monetary and time reasons.