Difficulty of getting into a chill east coast family medicine residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorDing

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm a second year med student at a DO school in California, and due to a family situation, I need to go to the east coast for residency, and I'm not going to consider any competitive california FM residencies. I've been searching and reading about a lot of different FM residencies, specifically in Pennsyvlania, and it seems like a lot of them are....how to say this nicely, not very competitive? Judging from the stats of their current residents, a lot of them went to Caribbean or non-U.S. medical schools, and 50% or more are DO's. (***Disclaimer: I'm not saying that people who went to these kinds of schools are lower quality. I don't think background or education has anything to do with how good of a doc you will be. But I include this info because the reality is that schooling and scores matters for some residencies).

I'm a second year DO student, top 20% of my class, extracurricular leadership with student run clinics, probably will do slightly above average on boards, and I think a few of my clinical preceptors will pity me and give me a letter of rec. So I'm wondering if anyone has an idea on whether I have a decent chance of getting an FM residency in Pennsylvania?

I want to find a chill residency where I can enjoy my time working as part of a team but also start raising a family. I'm not competitive, so I really don't care how "prestigious" the residency is. What worries me is that none of their current residents are from California, so now I'm wondering if east coast FM's are choosy about picking people who went to school on the east coast. I also worry that these less competitive residencies won't want me because they'll think they're only my backup, but in fact, they are my first choice.