Dilemma please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LakerFan888

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year pharmacy student and I decided that I want to apply to medical school in the fall. I have the following extra curricular activities

clinical volunteering 300+ hours
tutoring
club soccer
shadowing ~40 hrs
intramural sports

Long story ahead sorryy :)

Heres my dilemma. I haven't taken the MCAT yet and I was thinking about taking them in September but I read on here that this is not a good idea because I will not get my results back until October and this is very late to apply. I decided to take it in August maybe the 17th or the 23rd latest.

I just found out that my school is sending students down to Equador from July 31st to August 9th. A bunch of doctors are going as well and we are going to villages to help vaccinate and donate things. Overall it will be a great experience and will be a plus point on my application. However, this would mean I would have to come back and have only a week more to review for the MCAT if I want to take it on the 17th. The 23rd is very late and I dont want to take it then.

Should I take the MCAT on July 27th before I go... I will have May, June, and July to study for it. Is it worth it to rush the MCAT a bit to go on this trip? Will the trip really add to my extracurriculars? The trip is 2000 and I will also be doing research in May and June while studying also to add to my resume as well. What do I do??

Thanks for all the help SDN! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Should I take the MCAT on July 27th before I go... I will have May, June, and July to study for it. Is it worth it to rush the MCAT a bit to go on this trip? Will the trip really add to my extracurriculars? The trip is 2000 and I will also be doing research in May and June while studying also to add to my resume as well. What do I do??

Thanks for all the help SDN! :)