Dissertation Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

edieb

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year student in a clinical psych program. I started the program in the behavioral medicine track and conducted a thesis on a bxal medicine/health psychology topic. I also helped publish two papers on health psych. topics (one in a so-so journal and one in a really good journal). Anyway, my professor left the program recently and another professor, a BIG, BIG, BIG name in MR and Pervasive Developmental Disorders is chairing my dissertation. He is telling me to do it on autism spectrum disorders and gave me a topic. He is also telling me to join his team because they publish like crazy (and they really do). He is promising me 6 publications in top journals in 9 months (He is a publishing God). However, I have a question - if I write a dissertation on developmental disabilities and have a bunch of publications in this area along with my 2 publications in behavioral medicine, will this hurt my chances of getting a good internship? He is telling me that if I want to teach at a medical school, I need to publish and moving into this new, other area will not hurt. I checked on the APPIC web site and a lot of really good internships have bxal medicine and developmental disorder rotations; however, it seems odd that one graduate student would have publications in both. Help!

Members don't see this ad.

edieb said: