This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted687538

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi! I need to do a DIY post-bacc after graduation. I'm only looking at community colleges for financial reasons. I have completed all my pre-reqs, so I'll be taking other BCPM classes and some re-takes for a GPA boost/prep for the MCAT. The post-bacc classes will not require labs.

It looks like I have two options based on my finances:
1. Enroll in an out-of-state community college and take online classes completely free due to a special program.
2. Enroll in my local local community college 40 minutes away and pay anywhere from $5k-10K+ out of pocket with financial aid.

I'm a first-gen college student in a rural area, and I will need to work in addition to any post bacc classes I take. It just doesn't seem feasible to drive 80+ minutes each day to take classes, still pay so much out of pocket AND work on top of it — especially because all my laboratory requirements are satisfied. I know a good handful of med schools do not like online classes, but it seems like the most feasible way to show re-invention. I'm coming from a HYP undergrad, and I can feasibly boost my cGPA to 3.7 and sGPA to 3.6 before I apply for the 2022-23 cycle if I take courses this summer, fall and spring.

Any thoughts? Are medical schools more likely to be okay with online coursework anyway with the pandemic? Does it even matter since I finished my pre-reqs anyway?

EDIT: I also have a strong upward trend, if that eases the "taking CC classes to skirt around hard ones" narrative. I had a rough freshman and sophomore year because of personal reasons I can explain on my application. My junior and senior year GPAs are between 3.8-4.0.