Do any average or normal people get in????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kandygyrl

FM's Bailey
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just have to ask this question. I am an average student with average scores, and an average lifestyle. Of course, I believe that I have outstanding qaulities and abilities in certain areas, but in comparison to some of the students and applicants on these posts I would need to be a super hero
eek.gif
to get into medical school. I understand that the applicant pool has changed and that the standards have risen. But really do any average, normal, everyday people get into medical school.

I feel that my chances are becoming more slim by the day. I just want to hear from some average people who are getting in and doing good things. It would serve as such an encouragement to myself and other average yet determined students going through this very arduous process.
biggrin.gif

Members don't see this ad.

What helps me along is the knowledge that my determination is above average. That and the fact that I have nothing to lose and everything to gain by giving my dreams the best shot I got. My attitude is this: I will give this everything I have and if it's not good enough, then I was not meant to be a doctor. At that point I will consider another health career because I know medicine is where I belong. The point of all of this is that I spent too much time in that place in which you are now--feeling unsteady, not good enough, smart enough, etc. You need to say FU to any negative thoughts from yourself or others. If there are people in your life who are not supportive, tell them they must be in order for you to maintain a relationship. Be very serious about your goal, believe in yourself and your abilities--you decide for yourself whether or not your life lives up to your dreams or is merely mediocre.