DO Applying for FM Residency in NW

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WestCoDO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a third year starting to schedule auditions for my fourth year, and picking residencies to apply to in Family Medicine. I wish to go back to the NW, ideally Oregon, but am open to Washington and Idaho as well. I am a National Health Service Corps scholar, so I will have to practice in an underserved community when I graduate. Therefore, I'm looking for a program that will offer me a diverse experience, as well as connect me with the community of family docs around the NW so that I can secure employment after graduating that meets NHSC requirements. I am having trouble picking programs, and having a very hard time assessing my competitiveness for ACGME programs. I am a DO student from Western University of Health Sciences, scored 233 on USMLE Step 1, have gotten a mix of pass and honors in my preclinical years and mostly high pass in my third year. I was the president of my school's chapter of American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians and of course a member of AAFP (we didn't have a regular FMIG). Here are a list of the programs I'm looking into:

Family Medicine Residency of Idaho
OHSU Family Medicine Portland
Providence Health & Services/Hood River Rural Program Hood River
Cascades East Rural Family Medicine, Klamath Falls
Samaritan Health Services Family Medicine, Corvallis
University of Washington Family Medicine Residency Program
PeaceHealth Southwest Washington
Swedish First Hill / Cherry Hill, Seattle
Group Health Cooperative Program, Seattle
Family Medicine Spokane
PNWU-COM/Skagit Valley Hospital Family Practice
Tacoma Family Medicine