Do collges with medical schools usually show bias towards their undergrad alumni?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Questionerrrrrrrrrrr

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
using!
for example, if I graduated from UF as a resident of the state, do i have a higher chance of getting into UF COM than other residents of the state?

how is UF COM anyway?

curious if any adcoms here know anything about how those kinds of colleges do things

Questionerrrrrrrrrrr
pw: Cluegle

Members don't see this ad.

Sometimes yes, sometimes no. Keep in mind MSAR stats that show % of matriculants from that UG school can be rather misleading since often times those matriculants were accepted through BS/MD programs a while back.

Members don't see this ad :)
It really depends. There is probably some familiarity bias at work, as well as selection bias from the applicants perspective.

using!
for example, if I graduated from UF as a resident of the state, do i have a higher chance of getting into UF COM than other residents of the state?

how is UF COM anyway?

curious if any adcoms here know anything about how those kinds of colleges do things

Questionerrrrrrrrrrr

If you get an interview could help you answer why this school!!! It helped me out

using!

how is UF COM anyway?

Questionerrrrrrrrrrr

It does vary by school as others have said, but I have interviewed at UF so I can give what insight I do have...