Do/Did any of you major in Art?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stewie

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
And if so, how did it work out? I'm a freshman at an ivy-league university and I want to major in visual art and biochemistry. Is it possible to do the pre-med requirements along with a double major? How did being an art major help/hurt you during the app. process, medical school and beyond? Thanks.;)

Members don't see this ad.

a friend of mine was an actual artist before going back to school post-bac and then going to med school- i think the med school liked his different background

my interviewer was an art major and now he's a physician so it's possible. not sure if it's possible to double major with it, but as long as you're doing the premed requirements, the degree in biochem should just be a few more classes on top of it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi there.

Yup, majored in art for BA (with zero science classes), and got an MFA as well. Did all my sciences post-bacc. No problems getting into medical school, although it was sometimes difficult to articulate the connection between my art and my desire to practice medicine -- the two fields use radically different vocabularies, and I felt as if I continually had to "translate" myself.

By the way, I think art + biochemistry would be a great combination. Good luck!

I think it is doable if your biochem requirements cover your pre-med requirements. Otherwise, your double major would become like a triple-major. I did English and pre-med (at an ivy) and that came out to be approximately a double-major; if I'd done English and biochem, it would've likely been similar to a double major as well. But if I had done English and Art double-major, I wouldn't have been able to fit the pre-med classes in.