Do I even have a shot at medical school? Here's my situation.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

virtuoso735

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from college this May with a Bachelor's of Science degree in biology. During my freshmen through junior years, I was pretty set on going to graduate school to get a PhD, with hopes of becoming a scientist/professor, but I slowly discovered that the research route was not what I really wanted. While I enjoy research, I don't want to spend my life as a post-doc earning 40k a year if I end up not ever getting a tenure-track job due to the glut of biology PhD's. I don't like the politics involved with obtaining a professorship, and I feel like a lot of research does not really do much to help others. I know that scientific research is important, and that scientists are largely responsible for technological and medical advancement, but the field that I was considering entering, evolutionary biology, while fascinating, does not contribute too much outside of satisfying people's intellectual curiosity.

Anyhow, enough of why I don't want to go into research. During my senior year, I started thinking about a career in the medical professions. It would combine biology, my interest in working to help others, and a sustainable career (or at least I hope so). I've thought about becoming a dentist or doctor--both appeal to me, at least on paper, but the problem is I do not have any with either field. This thread is not to discuss the merits of either profession. What I want to know is if I have a shot at a medical school.

I graduated from Yale in Biology (the ecology and evolutionary biology path) with a 3.42 overall GPA. I'm not sure what my science GPA is, but it's probably between 3.25 and 3.30. It's pretty terrible since it's pretty much all B's. I'll list my relevant course (sciences/math and english) grades below:

Chemistry
General Chem: B and B