MD Do I have a Chance? , URM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PandaHero

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to SDN, and I was wondering where I stand in my application and how competitive I am? Is there anything I need improve or work on before I apply this summer? I don't have an MCAT yet, but I intend to take it in May or June.

Here are my stats:
I'm a black female, and first generation American. Both of my parents were born in Jamaica.
I go to a local university that I have been going to full-time since I was a junior in HS as part of a dual enrollment program that allowed students to start college early.
FL Resident
Majors: Biology and Chemistry Minors: Math and Entrepreneurship
GPA: 3.54 (This includes taking 21-24 credits every semester for last two years)
Work Experience:
SWFL Sustainability Intern at Visaggio and Co.: ~1 year
·Research information on environmental issues taking place in Ft. Myers and write papers on them
Life Sciences Intern at Clinical and Translational Genomic Research Institute (Over the summer)
· Researched information on psychological disorders, launched program to inform workers in healthcare about pharmogenomics
Peer Mentor: Helping high school students (that are part of the dual enrollment program I'm in) transition more smoothly to college ~1 year
Tutor for General Chemistry I: ~2 years
TA for Gen Chem I: ~1 semester

Research Experiences/ Projects
· Runway Program— Member of program that allows student entrepreneurs to work on a business idea and present it to investors for funding (Basically I'm creating a product and a business plan for it) ~ 1 semester
· Entrepreneurship—Helped found and develop business called DoorAdd
Microbiology—Determining whether bacteria found on local beaches have anti-biotic resistant genes and integrons. Poster presentation will happen in April ~0.5 years