Do I have a Chance?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by full of hope, May 24, 2002.

1. full of hope

full of hope Junior Member

Hello Everyone,
    I am new to the Student Doctor Network, and I was reading what a lot of you have to say, and I find it rather helpful. I am writing because I have a problem. I am a Junior in undergrad, and I have always wanted to be a doctor. I hope to go to Med School after I graduate. When I got to college, I thought that maybe Pre-Med would be too hard, and so I did something else. However, I did not enjoy it and did poorly. I decided after my sophomore year that I wanted to be a doctor for sure, so I started taking classes in that direction. However, my cumulative GPA after two years in college is a 2.0 ~ what do I do? Do you think there is a chance at all? I know I will have to do extremely well on the MCAT, and pick up my GPA, but do you think I should find something else to do or should I continue trying to be a doctor? I feel that my low GPA was caused by lack of focus, but now that I know what I want to do, I fear I will not be able to lift up my GPA enough to get accepted anywhere. I guess I am just really scared now, because I am not sure what to do. Some people think I should transfer to a different university and start over, but I do not think that is a solution. Any suggestions would really be helpful, and I would appreciate it. Thanks a lot,

Full of Hope :confused:

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mpp

mpp SDN Moderator
    Moderator Emeritus

Resident [Any Field]
    If you give up now then there is no possibility of ever becoming a doctor. If you keep on trying, the possibility exists.

4. lola

lola Bovine Member