Do I have a chance??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Billiken03

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, my numbers aren't great...I have a 3.5 cummulative and only a 3.4 science GPA. These grades include A's in Human Physiology and both OChems and a Physics, but I slacked in the beginning. I haven't taken the MCAT yet, and I plan to take it in April. I play club soccer and am excelling at that, I do a little volunteer work, and I'm working on a undergrad thesis. My question is whether or not I really have a chance at getting into med school. The reason I ask is because everyone around me seems to have a 3.8 or 3.9 but have low expectations on where they want to go (they say things like "I'll just go where I'm accepted"). I'm a TX resident, but would like to go somewhere outta state. If I do have a chance, where would be some good schools to apply to? Please be brutally honest if needed. Thanks in advance....

Members don't see this ad.

It sounds like you're in pretty good shape. With a 3.5 GPA, I would shoot for a 29-31 MCAT. I would also apply to all of the schools in your state and lots of private schools. I would say that you have a pretty good shot of getting in somewhere if you continue to do well and remain active with volunteering. Remember, 3.5 is pretty much the average GPA for matriculants.

Get involved w/ some research, get good grades for the rest, 30+ on your MCAT, and keep up the community service. Oh yeah, don't forget some clinical experience. The balls in your court, do everything you can, and you'll be wearing the white coat some day.
Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)