Digsbe

7+ Year Member
Aug 6, 2011
Status
Pharmacist
I'm a P4 on APPE's right now and I'm considering career paths and residency. I plan on attending midyear and have been looking into programs. I just wanted to see if I had a shot at obtaining a residency at decent/good institutions.

Right now my GPA is a 3.2, our school counts APPEs as grades and I anticipate this to go above 3.3 by December (made A's on all my rotations so far). By the time December comes I will have done 3 clinical rotations with my community rotation being heavily MTM based as well as a management rotation in clinical pharmacy. I have a published publication from my senior year of undergrad and have worked on unpublished (but will be published eventually) research while in pharmacy school. I have held a leadership position in pharmacy school and have some volunteer projects on my CV. As far as work experience goes I only have experience in retail. I worked as a tech and as an intern for 2 different chains.

Do I have a shot at programs? My main fear is my GPA feeling low, everyone I hear from or hear about has 3.6+ and stressed how hard it is to match. I've had a few preceptors offer to write me LoR's if I chose to apply. Any advice would be appreciated.

Edit: I'm aware I accidentally put this in the wrong spot

Maruko

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 14, 2007
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
i think you'll be fine. most residencies I checked up require minimum 3.0 GPA :)

zelman

7+ Year Member
Nov 27, 2009
Status
Pharmacist
Your best shot will be at a site where you do an APPE and blow them away.

Feb 17, 2015
Status
Pharmacy Student
I am a recent new grad and had three rotations with a residency program director and I asked them what they look for in potential applicants. Both of them said that grades are far down that list. All three say that leadership activities and an applicants letter of intent are the two aspects of a application that holds the most weight.

GoldfishPharmD