Do I have any recourse for this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

A Trained Chimp

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background on me: I graduated Suma from UB (that's SUNY at Buffalo for anyone unfamiliar with the NY schools) with a 3.8 gpa. My MCAT is nothing special at a 31, but still I feel like its good enough for most of the schools I am applying to. My extracurriculars are also solid according to my PreHealth advisors.

I recently interviewed at an allopathic med school (that shall remain unnamed) that employed the MMI format. One of the questions asked me to elaborate on any concerns I had regarding the school. Now for anyone that is unfamiliar with UB and the Buffalo area in general, let me just say that both the school and the city are fairly massive. UB contains a med school, dent school, pharmacy school, lots of graduate programs including some rather large research laboratories. In short, it is a very large and very diverse environment. My concern regarding the med school at which I was interviewing was that this medical school was much smaller than my alma mater, and the city and surrounding area was much smaller and less urban. When I walked into the interview room to give my response, the interviewer (who was a second year medical student) responded by saying, "I don't think I agree with you". The student the proceeded to explain his reason for why my concern was invalid and basically took up the remainder of the time allotted for the interview. I tried to recover from this, but I couldn't really say anything without him trying to give evidence to support his disagreement. I do not wish to divulge the name of the med school nor the city, but suffice it to say that m concerns where reasonable, something that I felt quite confident about especially after the campus tour.