Do I have the right idea for sending update letters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

partypantss

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay so since the semester is about to finish for me and most of the schools I have applied to have not gotten back to me yet, I know it is soon time for me to write them update letters. Since I have never done this before, I have been looking around for information but I still have some questions/ want to make sure I am doing this right...

First, should I separately send an official transcript from my school in order to show them my new grades from this semester? Or is listing the classes/ grades in the actual letter enough? I figured if I am supposed to send a transcript, I would mention in the letter that my newest grades are being sent from my school, correct?

Second, do people generally send an email to the admissions committee, or do you do it through portal? Am I correct in assuming that, if there's a place in the portal to update, then I should use it but if not, then send an email to the committee?

Third, what exactly is appropriate to put in the update? Should I start by describing things about the school I like, then give them updates? Is it worth it to tell them about EC's that are already on my application, but I have continued this semester? Also, is something like getting "tutor of the month" worth telling them about?

Finally, what is the difference between an update where I talk about how I like the school because of XYZ and would love the opportunity to go there versus an "actual" letter of intent?

Thank you for any feedback, and good luck to everyone else who is still looking for an acceptance this cycle like I am!

Members don't see this ad.

You will hear various opinions on what should be included in an update letter. I can't address your first point but I'll try to address the other ones.