Do I have to do an SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spicypumpkin

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I’ve lurked for years but it’s my first time posting, so I apologize if the formatting is off or if this is the wrong place to post.

I graduated in 2019 with a 3.25 cGPA and a 3.01 sGPA. I have ADHD that was diagnosed only after I finished college and started a job, and it took a toll on my GPA. I’m scheduled to take the MCAT this Friday and, based on my FLs, it looks like I’m getting ~510-515.

Relevant info:
  • URM (Puerto Rican)​
  • Female​
  • Florida resident​
  • Microbiology and Philosophy double major at high ranked FL school​
ECs etc:​
  • 150+ hours shadowing—some in Spanish in Puerto Rico, some in English in FL
  • 70+ hours participating in clinical conference calls with doctors, their healthcare teams, and patients (part of my job, covid-era)
  • ~80 clinical volunteering and planning to do more once covid chills out
  • ~50 nonclinical, mostly helping with dinner at a homeless shelter while in undergrad, going to start contactless food distribution volunteering soon. I know this is a weak spot and I’m currently looking for more opportunities since I’ll soon be done with the MCAT, and hopefully will be able to do even more once covid chills out
  • 1000s of hours of research—2 years in undergrad (poster); full time public health lab job for the past year (started out sequencing pathogenic bacteria, then COVID testing and sequencing); promoted to fellow at the same lab and will be presenting at 2 conferences/might get a publication out of it
  • Work: (see above) full time public health lab, prestigious name-brand fellowship
  • Was in a few different clubs in undergrad (mostly philosophy-related)
  • Current member of local microbio society
  • Precinct committeeperson (local gov)