Do I need to do a DIY Post Bacc? Active duty military.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mybosswontapproveofthis

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated college in 14, joined the mil in 16' and still owe the Government 4 more years (Am a pilot and added a lot of time). So that opens a whole can or worms with trying to get LOR from professors.

Here is what I have so far.

3.55 GPA
3.65 SGPA (if memory serves me correct on both of them).
Worked for 18 months as a scribe/medical assistant and have like 1500-2000 hours of patient contact.
Volunteered for a year at an emergency department 200-300 hours there (have to call and get my actual number).(2014)
Volunteered at a major GI Lab/surgery center for a year and have 184 hour there.(2015-16)
200 hours of volunteering at a local high school Robotics team(2014-2016).
Took the MCAT in 2016 got a 507(def rushed it and should've taken another month on prep).
Was a member of several clubs, held leadership positions in them but I dont think they're notable to mention here.
Im a helicopter Pilot in the army with about 300 flight hours.
I have been shadowing the flight doctors, and other doctors for the last 9 months (once a week for about 4-6 hours, have to actually calculate the time). I have probably 150 hours of shadow time from 2014-2016 as well.

Would I need a DIY post bacc to help my chances (besides retaking the MCAT)? And is there a good template to one? Also would I need to retake some of my sciences basted on how long ago I took them (chem 2011, physics 2012/13, ochecm 13/14, biochem 14, etc).

Members don't see this ad.

6) taking an advanced class or two may be in order to both show you are still academically capable as well as getting a more recent letter