Apr 6, 2010
Status
My cGPA is around 3.58 ish. As for MCAT, I am taking it this June and aim for a 33 ish. Assuming that I have a 3.58 GPA and a 33 on MCAT with limited ECs, what are my chances?

ECs:
Going to volunteer at a hospital this summer.
Currently doing research with a professor
Some volunteer activities during freshmen year
Most worked (work study program) during my sophomore year.

I am an Asian FYI

Side Activities:
Spent a year investing in stock market (as a way to cultivate my interest in business field)
Part time jobs during summer of Fresh and Soph year to pay for tuition

Other than that, that's pretty much it, do I stand a chance at all?

Last edited:

canjosh

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 18, 2004
Houston
Status
Medical Student
As you said, your ECs are limited--very much so. You need some exposure to physicians and patients.

Which state are you a resident of? Are you an underrepresented minority?

Apr 6, 2010
Status
I am a resident of Maryland and I am an Asian. As for Clinical-Patient experience, that's what I am aiming for accomplishing this summer. By volunteering at a hospital. So, other than that, does that mean my chances are pretty slim?

Sep 4, 2006
Inside the tesseract
From what you've written, the numbers you project would make you competitive for some schools, but your experiences are too weak to attract adcomm interest.

The average applicant seems to have about 1.5 years of clinical experience (can be acquired at work, volunteer, for class credit, or with clinical research), 60-80 hours of physician shadowing, and a year of research. A good applicant will also have some of nonmedical/noncampus community service (essential if clinical experience is not via volunteerism), leadership, or teaching.

Don't waste your money applying this coming season. Your experiences look like you just decided to go into medicine and haven't bothered testing the vocation through various activities.

ThaliaNox

10+ Year Member
Oct 18, 2008
Status