Dec 17, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all, I'm currently an undergraduate student in PA. I was hoping you all could look at my stats and give me advice about my chances at MD or DO school and advice on the next steps I have to take
STATS:
chem 1: A
calc 1: c+
calc 2: b- (retook twice, old grades F, D)
orgo 1: c (retook once, old grade c-)
orgo 2: c
Bio 1: c (reetook once, old grade c-)
Bio 2: b+ (retook once, old grade c)
physics 1: b-
physics 2: b+
Higher biology electives: Genetics (A), Ecology (A), Cell Structure and Function(A)
GPA: 3.01
MCAT: (not taken)
and a semester of research
plus volunteering at hospital (100+ hours)
What are my chances? and what are the next steps i should take?

Thank you this is much appreciated!

Goro

7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
Upon retakes, your grades are less than steller. I do not think you'd make a competitive candidate for DO programs, and you have no chance at MD schools. You should be getting B+s and A in those re-takes.

Suggest that if you're truely serious about medical chool, that you take a post-bac or SMP to prove to AdComs like me that you can handle medical school.

Hi all, I'm currently an undergraduate student in PA. I was hoping you all could look at my stats and give me advice about my chances at MD or DO school and advice on the next steps I have to take
STATS:
Higher biology electives: Genetics (A), Ecology (A), Cell Structure and Function(A)

Catalystik

The Gimlet Eye
10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2006
Camp SDN: The Place for Summer Fun
STATS:

1) Do you know what your AACOMAS GPAs are? If not, this might help:
DO GPA calculation spreadsheet: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=450050
Newer modified version: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=839864

2) What came first, the retakes or the upper-level Bio A grades? Any more upper-level Bio or Biochem planned?

3) Any plan for shadowing or nonmedical community service? Any teaching or leadership?