Do I still have a shot...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flabs

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I wanted to get some input from this forum. I'm a 3rd year DO student, top quarter of my class (at one of the more well known schools), 3 years of research prior to school (6 publications, 2 first authors), interested in doing the IM/Heme/Onc track and staying in academics. Unfortunately, I didn't kill my boards....213. I'm particularly eyeing the following programs:
- UCI
- UC Davis
- OHSU

Anyway, wondering if I've got a chance still at any of these places. I do plan on doing some rotations at each of these institutes. Any ideas or input would be great. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

any thoughts....?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey guys, I wanted to get some input from this forum. I'm a 3rd year DO student, top quarter of my class (at one of the more well known schools), 3 years of research prior to school (6 publications, 2 first authors), interested in doing the IM/Heme/Onc track and staying in academics. Unfortunately, I didn't kill my boards....213. I'm particularly eyeing the following programs:
- UCI
- UC Davis
- OHSU

Anyway, wondering if I've got a chance still at any of these places. I do plan on doing some rotations at each of these institutes. Any ideas or input would be great. Thanks.

As the above poster said, you always have a chance. However, it will be tough just based on your step 1 score, unless your publications are super duper. In my opinion, >230 most likely lands you an interview, 220-230 maybe an interview and <220 prob not. But not all is lost. You still have an entire year to impress on the wards. And you still have Step 2. Definitely aim for a higher step 2 score to improve your odds. Good luck!