Do medical students and doctors have time to pursue hobbies and have a social life?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Perchperkins

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks! Hopefully I’m posting this in the right section. I’m a premed student and I love science. However, I also have other hobbies like painting, creative writing, hanging out with friends and what not. I understand that medical school is very demanding and that many students become burnt out. However, how much time do medical students usually have for hobbies? What about doctors?

I’ve heard so many mixed answers. If anyone would be so kind I’d love to hear what your weekly or daily schedule looks like. Thanks. :,)

Members don't see this ad.

Absolutely. I spend just as much of my time on things outside medical school. If you're real clever, you can even done a way to make your hobbies work for your resume. I do some illustrations for some different educational stuff, for example.

Reactions: 1 users
This year has been a no go. Second year has been insane. My profs have told me that things get back to normal after this semester though.

Members don't see this ad :)
Not a med student yet, but I'd think it would depend on your goal specialty and how competitive it is

Learn to carve out time for the things you love. That in part means, learning to be comfortable not always knowing everything in class or get perfect scores on evaluations. Once you learn to be comfortable with that and figure out how to prioritize what is most important to you, you can find the time. Easier said than done.

Reactions: 3 users