Do most pre-meds work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Exalya

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just curious here. I don't know a lot of pre-meds personally, but a lot of the ones I have met come from privileged backgrounds and don't work, or don't work that much. So, do you work, and if so, what do you do?

I was a lab tech for years, but it just didn't pay enough... pizza delivery is $10-20/hr, so that's what I do now. Oh the experience.

Members don't see this ad.

I would imagine MOST don't, but a large number probably do/have.

I had a couple of jobs my first 2 years of college (EMT/tech related), then quit to get serious about school. Then I worked as a TA in grad school and now am a computer systems analyst.

Members don't see this ad :)
I teach MCAT classes for a test prep company...just like many here. It's a great undergrad job. I do come from a privileged background, but I did spend a month working as a dish washer / delivery driver for a pizzeria before "shipping out" to college.

I teach MCAT classes for a test prep company...just like many here. It's a great undergrad job. I do come from a privileged background, but I did spend a month working as a dish washer / delivery driver for a pizzeria before "shipping out" to college.

Wow a whole month!?!?!?!

JK :D

hahahaha!

I would do alot for that

I would imagine MOST don't, but a large number probably do/have.

That's probably very accurate.

I personally know/knew about 15 serious premeds (those that are actually applying, have applied, or got in) and NONE of them had jobs at school (not even work-study) or over the summers. I went to a private college, and I would say about 10 of them did not receive ANY financial aid either.

Me, on the other hand: worked during school for 3 years, worked each summer, and am currently paying off loans.