Do PIs get annoyed by requests for LoRs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

didyouknow96

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a senior in undergrad and have been applying to lots of things. Conferences, research jobs, etc. I just met with my PI last week to ask if I could submit to a conference, and I asked her if I could put her down as a reference for a research job. My professor just yesterday told me about another research position at the University of Michigan, and I really want to apply, but they want to two letters of recommendation. My professor is happy to write me one, but I really don't want to bother my PI again who is traveling for conferences. Should I jut ask a professor whose class I've done well in?

Members don't see this ad.

I would probably recommend asking the letter writers who know you best and who you believe could write the strongest letters of recommendation for these positions. When making the request, you can ask them directly if they'd be able to write you a strong letter and you certainly can give them an out if they don't feel they'd be able to do so.

Writing letters can make things busy, sure, but it's also part of the job :). So, I wouldn't worry too much about "bothering" someone if you believe that person would be your best letter writer.

I would probably recommend asking the letter writers who know you best and who you believe could write the strongest letters of recommendation for these positions. When making the request, you can ask them directly if they'd be able to write you a strong letter and you certainly can give them an out if they don't feel they'd be able to do so.

Writing letters can make things busy, sure, but it's also part of the job :). So, I wouldn't worry too much about "bothering" someone if you believe that person would be your best letter writer.

But it’s like, she’s already so busy. I feel like I’m constantly asking her for things