DO DO schools to apply to? 3.472 cgpa and 3.37 sgpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BunnyMan17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm applying to DO schools this cycle but I'm a little worried as I have a C in cell bio and C+ in biochem 1 (I did manage a B+ in biochem 2). I'm in the process of retaking those now but I won't be able to update them until later when AACOMAS does grade updates. Right now they're bringing my GPA down to 3.47-c and 3.37-s.
I don't get MCAT scores back until June 21 but for what it's worth my AAMC FL sample test was C/P 85%, CR 92%, B/B 80%, and P/S 85%. I go to UVa for undergrad, majoring in biochemistry, and I'm a Va resident .

My letters of rec are good and I think my primary essay is actually pretty solid. I've had a lot of med students and pre-med advising go over it multiple times.

As far as EC type experiences go:
-I've got ~100 hours hospital volunteering, all patient contact, was a physical therapy aid for much of it--
-I was a mentor/tutor for AVID at the local high school my 2nd year
-I've got ~75 hours MD shadowing (neonatology, pathology, infectious disease) and ~20 hours DO shadowing (family medicine, did get a letter)
-I was in the fencing club 1st and 2nd year
-I'm active in one of our christian fellowships and have been on mission trips to the middle east and spain. I'm also house dad for one of the fellowship houses (think RA who supervises paying the bills)
-I'm active in the minority pre-health honor society (note that I'm actually not a minority, it's a long story) and served on the exec board 2nd year
-I've researched in 3 different labs but mostly (~1.5 years) in a medicinal chemistry lab. No 1st author publications but I've got my name on a few things
-Eagle scout and assistant scoutmaster during the summer
-Worked at chick-fil-a during breaks through Spring 2015 (started in 2009)
-I tutor orgo and gen chem on the side