DO student with a bad Step 1 score... love GS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Geraltofrivia

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a DO student with a Step 1 of 225. The average was 229 with std dev of 20. I am basically average I guess. I started surgery this month and I cannot begin to express how ridiculously but pleasantly surprised I am at how much I love surgery. I can honestly say, I see myself doing this for the rest of my life. My particular interest is trauma surgery, but i would like to know based on what I've given whether I am even competitive for surgery or not.

Thank you. I look forward to everybody's replies, both positive and negative.

More about me: I bust my butt at the hospital. I'm there 30 min early, I try to help out nurses, I try to get in as many cases as I can in the OR. I try to figure out how to manage patients. I read A LOT. If anybody has more tips as to how I can get more out of it, please let me know too. Thank you all.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a DO student with a Step 1 of 225. The average was 229 with std dev of 20. I am basically average I guess. I started surgery this month and I cannot begin to express how ridiculously but pleasantly surprised I am at how much I love surgery. I can honestly say, I see myself doing this for the rest of my life. My particular interest is trauma surgery, but i would like to know based on what I've given whether I am even competitive for surgery or not.

More about me: I bust my butt at the hospital. I'm there 30 min early, I try to help out nurses, I try to get in as many cases as I can in the OR. I try to figure out how to manage patients. I read A LOT. If anybody has more tips as to how I can get more out of it, please let me know too. Thank you all.
30 min early? Do you pre round on one patient?