Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

do you fill out classes for future semester?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by jaybird, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. jaybird

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    on AMCAS are you supposed to fill in the clases you plan on taking as well or only the ones for previous semesters?
     
  2. Caesar

    Caesar In Memory of Riley Jane
    Physician Moderator Emeritus 7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17,037
    Likes Received:
    71
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
  3. WinterLights

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    I was led to believe that only classes listed on your current transcript(s) are to be included.
     
  4. Caesar

    Caesar In Memory of Riley Jane
    Physician Moderator Emeritus 7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17,037
    Likes Received:
    71
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    I thought that there was a spot for classes you intend to take (they have to know you plan on meeting prereqs).

    Section III coursework:

    "courses you are currently enrolled or expect to enroll in prior to entering medical school". this is from the 2008 application worksheet.
     
  5. WinterLights

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    I just read that in the help section. How ridiculous. What is the point in listing them if they do not appear on your transcripts. Oh well, I've got more work to do now.
     
  6. LittleRocker

    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
    So you are to list your expected classes for fall AND spring semesters?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Isis24

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
    Yeah, it's not very useful. I submitted my app with next year's courses, but then I decided to take different classes...

    Actually, there is a point (i've heard). If you haven't completed all your pre-requisites, ADCOMs will want to see it listed as "future courses". That way they know that you know what classes you still need to take.
     
  8. WinterLights

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    I've completed my pre-reqs already. It should be optional so that people who have do not have to fill it out. I hope AMCAS takes this into consideration in the future.
     
  9. ar2388

    ar2388 rads resident
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,942
    Likes Received:
    4
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    jesus, i f*cking hope its optional! i submitted my application already and i did not list all my future courses, or even any of them.... but my prereqs are done.. please tell me i dont need to start freaking out
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Stick1360

    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    Same here bro, as I type panic mode sets in
     
  11. Isis24

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
    No, i don't think they can require it. anyway, people often change their minds about classes even after schools starts.
     
  12. WinterLights

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    I highly doubt it is a big deal unless you are missing pre-req's. There is no possible way that they can know if you left them out since they do not appear on your transcript or anywhere else for that matter. If worst comes to worst, Just say that you have not registered for classes yet.
     
  13. TupacalipseT96

    TupacalipseT96 R U Still Down?
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    4
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    lol I didn't do anything of the sort either and I already submitted... if this is true and necessary, it wasn't made very clear by AAMC.
     
  14. QuaerensIntelle

    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I didn't put them. It didn't say that you have to, and I don't know what classes I'm taking yet (I usually change my mind during add drop and I have no more requirements left for my major). I don't think it matters unless you are missing prereqs and I don't see how they can prove/know that you are even registered for anything.
     

Share This Page