do you get smarter in med school?...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

specialflava

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hey everyone, I'm actually an undergrad right now, just had a question for some of you further along in the process. Right now I'm nearing the home stretch of the finals season (one more to go), and after a week straight of 10 hour study days punctuated by various finals I feel mentally/physically ill at the thought of more studying. Granted I brought it upon myself by waiting until the last minute to catch up with everything, I still feel like I've been run over by a truck. I can't imagine doing this for more than short bursts at a time (i.e cramming right before finals, then having a month off), but I've heard that med school shoves 100x more info down your throat than undergrad, which could make EVERY week a study week. My question is, do you guys feel like you got smarter or more efficient at studying once med school came around, or is every day filled with massive amounts of studying? I could imagine some serious depression setting in if every week were like finals week...

Anyways, I'd appreciate any input!

braluk

SDN Surgerynator
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
i dont think you get smarter in med school. You just learn how to really manage your time, and learn about your study habits and dealing with stress. As for getting smarter, thats another story- your analytical skill and overall ability to retain information may be enhanced after graduating, but I think that the bulk of our intelligence is something that develops when we're young, and only gets refined over time.

D

deleted77919