Do you have to go by your legal name?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mustangsally65

Sally 2.0
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know if this is the right place to ask, but here goes.

I have a preferred name that doesn't appear anywhere on my birth certificate/driver's license etc. My question is: when I'm a doctor, do I have to go by my legal name since that's the name on my MD? For instance, do I have to sign prescriptions with my full name, or could I use my preferred name?

This probably sounds kind of silly, but I've had this problem all my life. Whenever I sign anything at all, I use my legal name. But this creates a lot of confusion, and I hate that. :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

I have no idea about the answer to your question (sorry :)) But I'm curious, have you considered changing your legal name to match your preferred name?

mustangsally65 said:
I don't know if this is the right place to ask, but here goes.

I have a preferred name that doesn't appear anywhere on my birth certificate/driver's license etc. My question is: when I'm a doctor, do I have to go by my legal name since that's the name on my MD? For instance, do I have to sign prescriptions with my full name, or could I use my preferred name?

This probably sounds kind of silly, but I've had this problem all my life. Whenever I sign anything at all, I use my legal name. But this creates a lot of confusion, and I hate that. :oops:

Hi there,
Name on license has to match name on signature on scripts. Any method you use to make these two the same works no matter what name is on the degree on the wall.

njbmd :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Is your preferred name Mustangsally?

njbmd said:
Hi there,
Name on license has to match name on signature on scripts. Any method you use to make these two the same works no matter what name is on the degree on the wall.

njbmd :)