EMT/Paramedic or Doctor (pre-med) originally?

• I was pre-med before becoming an EMT/Paramedic

Votes: 17 70.8%
  • I was an EMT/Paramedic and then I decided I wanted to be a Doctor

Votes: 7 29.2%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

AWhitehair

EM PA-C. MD wannabe
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 23, 2004
Tampa, FL
Status
Non-Student
EMT's... were you pre-med first and then an EMT/Paramedic or did you start out as an EMT/Paramedic and decide you wanted to be a Doctor?

Just curious, because everyone I work with usually assumes that I decided I wanted to be a doc from being an EMT. However, I was pre-med a loooong time before that.

AggieJohn

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
May 22, 2005
Dallas, TX
www.aggiepremed.org
Status
Medical Student
AWhitehair said:
EMT's... were you pre-med first and then an EMT/Paramedic or did you start out as an EMT/Paramedic and decide you wanted to be a Doctor?

Just curious, because everyone I work with usually assumes that I decided I wanted to be a doc from being an EMT. However, I was pre-med a loooong time before that.
Same as you. Pre Med then EMT.

Agent Splat

Viruses? Don't Exist.
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 15, 2004
The only major American city to have elected 3 Soc
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I had wanted to be an EMT for a few years before even considering premed, but I didn't get a chance to take the course until about the same time I had thought about becoming a doctor. For me the work is great stress relief from school.

notdeadyet

Still in California
15+ Year Member
Jul 23, 2004
Status
Attending Physician
Robizzle said:
i have a feeling the outcome of this poll will be lots and lots (and lots) of choice 1.
I had no interest in being a premed when I became an EMT. Sounded like too much college at the time.

greytmedic

Faster than you
10+ Year Member
Dec 17, 2005
California
Status
Resident [Any Field]