Does Baylor give preference to in staters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rocket3004

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking yes, but have gotten conflicting information... anyone with solid info care to elaborate?

Members don't see this ad.

Rocket3004 said:
I'm thinking yes, but have gotten conflicting information... anyone with solid info care to elaborate?

They sure do. (I'm a Texas resident so I'm banking on this :) )

Rocket3004 said:

YES...SIGNIFICANT PREFERENCE...LIKE 70% AND INCR. EACH YEAR...HECK IT MIGHT AS WELL BECOME A STATE SCHOOL

Sorry...I really want to attend Baylor COM...but that is unlikely seeing as how I am not a Texas Resident.

Members don't see this ad :)
Well, here's the problem. My parents moved halfway through my undergrad years. I am a dependent so that means I can claim TX residency (confirmed by schools).

HOWEVER, this puts me at 50/50 with 1 instate instituition (they claim to have 50/50 in v. outstate students) and at severe penalty for my other 2 instate schools.

what to do...?

Straight from the 2007-2008 MSAR:

Of the 168 students that matriculated with the 2005-2006 first year medical school class, 126 were Texas residents.

So, even if they don't specifically state that they show preference for Texas residents, the numbers don't lie.

Even though I am a Texas resident, I do wish they would open their doors to more OOS applicants. It would make the entering class more diverse, especially since Houston is such a diverse city to live in. I brought this up with BCM faculty, and they sort of laughed at me.

Every Texas school prefers Texas residents. At least 90% of their class has to come from there. I am not even going to mess with Texas. :)

EDIT: Only State Schools! I stand corrected. Baylor's figures work out to 75% In state for those playing along at home.

jackieMD2007 said: