1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Does Baylor give preference to in staters?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Rocket3004, Jul 19, 2006.

1. Rocket3004

Rocket3004 Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I'm thinking yes, but have gotten conflicting information... anyone with solid info care to elaborate?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. CaramelDlite

CaramelDlite Academic Gangsta
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    They sure do. (I'm a Texas resident so I'm banking on this :) )

4. riceman04

10+ Year Member

Medical Student

YES...SIGNIFICANT PREFERENCE...LIKE 70% AND INCR. EACH YEAR...HECK IT MIGHT AS WELL BECOME A STATE SCHOOL

Sorry...I really want to attend Baylor COM...but that is unlikely seeing as how I am not a Texas Resident.

5. Rocket3004

Rocket3004 Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Well, here's the problem. My parents moved halfway through my undergrad years. I am a dependent so that means I can claim TX residency (confirmed by schools).

HOWEVER, this puts me at 50/50 with 1 instate instituition (they claim to have 50/50 in v. outstate students) and at severe penalty for my other 2 instate schools.

what to do...?

6. Bubblehead-to-MD

Bubblehead-to-MD Emergency Blow!
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Straight from the 2007-2008 MSAR:

Of the 168 students that matriculated with the 2005-2006 first year medical school class, 126 were Texas residents.

So, even if they don't specifically state that they show preference for Texas residents, the numbers don't lie.

7. doctordutch

doctordutch Member
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical