• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

SgtDoc

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 4, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I am a California resident, but am currently living and going to school in Nevada (but maintaining my CA residency). I plan on applying to all of the UCs and a lot of other OOS schools, both public and private. Seeing how CA has so many great public med schools, do schools "discriminate" against OOS applicants from CA? Would I be better off switching my residency to Nevada? Or does it make no difference and all OOSers are considered equal?

horhay1241

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 14, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
If I were you, I would switch to NV residency. I think with your stats you have a great chance at getting into UNR. But only a decent shot at a UC. Play the odds and go for UNR. As for the discrimination, I definitely get that feeling even during interviews. It's like they know you don't want to leave CA so they are doubting your reasons for going to their school. Thats just my opinion. Good luck!

About the Ads

SgtDoc

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 4, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Two opposite opinions, but thanks! That MCAT score is just my first practice test before any studying, so I'm pretty confident that the real thing will be higher.

notdeadyet

Still in California
15+ Year Member
Jul 23, 2004
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Seeing how CA has so many great public med schools, do schools "discriminate" against OOS applicants from CA?
UCSF and UCLA do not state an in-state bias, but both are majority in-state and both are very hard to get in to for anyone. UCSD has in state bias but allows OOS. UC Davis and UC Irivine both have very strong in-state preference (only a handful of OOS matriculants).
Would I be better off switching my residency to Nevada?