Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

does going to top tier undergrad school count?

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by ilubse7en, Jan 7, 2009.

1. ilubse7en

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    hi, i just found this website and i need all the help i can get~~
    i am senior and graduating, but i live in cali, and went to well, a very nice but difficult school, okay, i went to berkeley.
    well, i got some C+s, on prereq courses, and non prereq course too.
    problem is, berkeley don't let you retake courses C- or higher.
    i am studying for MCAt right now,
    i took about 35 units on city college on some prereq courses but mostly sociology and stuff.
    i have accumulative of 3.25 GPA, but only GPA of 3.0 on berkeley transcript
    my question is, if i have high MCAt,
    you think i have chances at Medical school?
    i have hospital experience and research experience

2. Hippias

5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    If you have an upward trend in your classes, that might help. Even with great ECs, a 3.0 gpa is pretty hard to explain, not that it's impossible. But it is a bit of a long shot.

Not to be harsh, but I don't think you will get in right away. Work on getting some stellar ECs next year, and maybe think about a masters.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Catalystik

Catalystik Platinum
    Physician Faculty SDN Advisor Verified Account 10+ Year Member