Does it matter for med school if You take Calc I or II?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

socrates89

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
what should I take???

Calc I
Calc I honors
Calc II

After taking the placement exam I placed into Calc I honors which is equivalent to Calc II so do you think i should take Calc II since it might impress medical school that being its a tougher class than Calc I or does it really not matter???

im a freshmen student and this is my first semester course

Members don't see this ad.

what should I take???

Calc I
Calc I honors
Calc II

After taking the placement exam I placed into Calc I honors which is equivalent to Calc II so do you think i should take Calc II since it might impress medical school that being its a tougher class than Calc I or does it really not matter???

It really doesn't matter. Just get good grade on the course.

It really doesn't matter. Just get good grade on the course.

Agreed. Unless you want to be a math, engineering, or physics major -- or some other major that requires a lot of math -- take the easier course and do well. An A in "easy" Calc I will impress medical schools more than a B in "hard" Calc II. (And a select few schools require two semesters of calculus anyway.)

-z

Members don't see this ad :)
So many pre-meds think they need to take the hardest courses, and that the admission committees even care or notice that they took the harder ones. A grade of "B" in a more challenging course isn't going to look better or the same as a grade of "A" in the easier course.

Don't shoot yourself in the foot, take a bunch of hard courses, and then end up with a GPA of 3.3 and then have to struggle to get into medical school. Just take the regular courses and focus on a breadth of knowledge, not a deep treatment of just one.