1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Does my major help me any?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by ncguy2005, Aug 9, 2006.

1. ncguy2005

ncguy2005 ...
    7+ Year Member

I was just wondering if my major helps any in the application proccess to get into medical school.

I'm a Sophomore majoring in Music Education, I'm assistant Principal trumpet in my school's top ensemble (wind ensemble), and I'm in various other ensembles at the school.

I've always heard that medical schools like the major (several of my professors have even said so at school), but exactly how much weight does it really carry?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SoupWithAFork

SoupWithAFork Inertia Creeps
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Med schools are emphasizing more and more that major is not a factor in their consideration of an applicant - you can major in anything and still go to med school.

That being said, Music Education is a unique major and will probably be a welcome break from adcoms seeing bio, chem, biochem, etc. over and over again. I'm also majoring in a unique subject, and at the very least it will catch an eye or two, and most probably will be asked about at the interview.

Other than that, a particular major won't make or break you; just make you stand out a little more.

4. ADeadLois

ADeadLois Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Your major will catch the eye of the adcoms, but they will then ask "OK, now what did he/she do with it?" If you can have success with that major, and still have solid health experiences and a good MCAT score, you'll be in good shape.

5. ncguy2005

ncguy2005 ...
    7+ Year Member