1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Does Physics Need A Lab Component?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by IWant2BeADoctor, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. IWant2BeADoctor

    IWant2BeADoctor License to Matriculate
    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    I haven't taken Physics yet. There are types of intro Physics in my University both are 8 Semester credits. But the one for health science majors doesn't seem to have a Lab component.

    Does this meet the Pre-req for Med schools or am I going to have to take the harder Physics class for Engineering and Physics majors which has a lab component?

    The one for Engineering/Physics majors is 10x harder...He's having trouble maintaing a C in that class and he's breezed through Calc 2 and Linear alegebra with A's.
     
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. BigRedPremed

    BigRedPremed Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    Yes, it needs to have a lab component. I'm not sure how a 8 credit physics course can lack a lab.
     
  4. IWant2BeADoctor

    IWant2BeADoctor License to Matriculate
    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    It just doesn't specify L for lab on the course book. I talked with a physical therapy major and I seem to recall he said there was a lab component.
     
  5. TexPre-Med

    TexPre-Med Membership Revoked
    Removed 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    2 lab hours are mandatory
     
  6. Doctor Bagel

    Doctor Bagel so cheap and juicy
    Moderator Emeritus 15+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    10,919
    Likes Received:
    1,116
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Yep, I think most schools require physics lab. Physics lab is fun and pretty easy as opposed to say chem lab, so it's not a huge deal.
     
  7. Tired Pigeon

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    4
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    Yes, you need the lab -- but are you sure there's no lab component incorporated in the 'health science majors' option? Maybe they block out part of the lecture time or something? Talk to the physics department about this, as I'm sure it has come up before.
     

Share This Page