Does undergrad matter: Transfer to UGA(in-state) or Ohio State(out-of-state)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Parklife

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
When I went to my dentist, I was impressed that he went to Wake Forest for undergrad. Why? Because it's wake forest.

I have been wondering... do dental schools and clients look at where you went for undergrad? I currently attend an unranked state school, and I'm looking to transfer anyways. It's just not cutting it for me here. Here's the run down:

UGA: In the regional south, UGA is a pretty good school. It's decently ranked. It has some strong programs. It's just a good in-state flagship school to go to. If I choose to go to UGA, I will have to stay at my current school for one more semester and transfer for spring 2013. I am a freshman, so next year I will be a sophomore. I have a pretty good schedule lined up for next semester at my current school. I was thinking it would be cheap for me to go to an in-state school. After all, organic chemistry at Harvard is organic chemistry at UGA. Science doesn't change...but then there's the dental admission factor and undergrad factor.

Ohio State: Ohio State is renowned. Excellent research school. Excellent dental school, pharmacy school, med school. It's just great. I would love to be a buckeye. The only points here is will it be harder than UGA and it will cost a lot more being out-of-state(granted I already have 40 something credits done in-state on scholarship). I have been accepted for fall 2012 transfer, and I can be a buckeye any time I wish.

In the dental community, what do you all think?