Mar 26, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello there, I'm in my last year of high school and I'm about to go to a very small and cheap college called Tarleton State University. Here's my question: Should I finish my undergraduate education in this university, or should I transfer to a college like UT Austin, Texas Tech, or UNT? I'm wondering this because Tarleton isn't a very widley know university and I'm worried that this might hurt my chances of getting into a medical school.

Thanks for any replies.

apumic

Oracle of the Sheet
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 1, 2007
Denver, CO
Status
Medical Student
School doesn't really make much of a difference. The cheap state U (assuming it's not a community college) isn't going to hurt you as long as you excel. Big fish in a little pond>>small fish in a big pond! (Yes, yes, big fish in big pond>big fish in small pond.... but what makes you think you'd be the big fish? Get my drift?)

golfman

7+ Year Member
Apr 14, 2010
Status
Medical Student
Hello there, I'm in my last year of high school and I'm about to go to a very small and cheap college called Tarleton State University. Here's my question: Should I finish my undergraduate education in this university, or should I transfer to a college like UT Austin, Texas Tech, or UNT? I'm wondering this because Tarleton isn't a very widley know university and I'm worried that this might hurt my chances of getting into a medical school.

Thanks for any replies.
It will never hurt to go to a great University. That being said, if you get a great GPA and do well on the MCAT it won't really hurt you if you went to a small college. You'll get in somewhere.

Going to a "prestigious" university is one of those things that can help you, but if you don't you will be just fine as long as you make yourself a competitive applicant. That being said, I wouldn't go to an ultra crappy community college or something.

rockaction

casemed'14
May 3, 2009
Status
Medical Student