Dog?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pmdc222

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm an entering 2007 med student and I've wanted a dog for a long time. Is it possible to have a dog while in medical school? More specifically, is it possible when you don't have another person at home during the day?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

I'm an entering 2007 med student and I've wanted a dog for a long time. Is it possible to have a dog while in medical school? More specifically, is it possible when you don't have another person at home during the day?

As the proud owner of 2 dogs (a golden and a Choc Lab), I would really recommend against it. I will be starting this fall as well, but I also have a wife who shares the responsibility with me (actually takes more than her fair share). If you leave or go somewhere, it really becomes a hassle to find someone to watch the pet and costs money to board them (currently costs us 20 a day when we travel). There are also vet bills to consider. I would estimate that a yearly check up to get shots, worming, so on etc. alone costs 250 in the burbs of Minneapolis (vet costs vary from region to region). This is assuming you have a dog with no problems. My golden has severe allergies and literally bites her own hair off/gets skin infections/etc. The initial visit to get her an allergy test and serum for immunotherapy cost $800. Serum costs 180 every 6 months. Anti-biotics and steroids cost 50 minimum a piece as well. Then there is dog food and toys, which can vary from breed to breed. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE my dogs but they are the equivalent to a furry child (obviously not as much work as a child, but is a responsibility nonetheless), and have needs that you have to attend to. Consider the lifestyle you will lead as a med student and then ask if it's fair to the dog.

Having a great dog is awesome.