dogs overseas, gre, online prereqs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eatveg

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I have a couple of questions. I have a degree in dental hygiene. I'm 30 years old and I'm considering vet school. The prereqs? I really have to work full time and I would like to take two classes a semester. What courses can i take online? I read that biochemistry online at Mn. is possible...but only 3 credits? I think Wisconsin requires 5 credits. What else could I take online? Does everyone have to take the gre test? I plan on applying everywhere including overseas when it's time. I have a dog. Do all counties require quarentine? A month without my baby! Cost to ship and board him? Would I have to dorm it? Or could I get a place for us? Any way to work while in vet school? or does everyone live off loans and ramin noodles? Last I checked vets make 50,000 - 75,000? True? A patient of mine, his son is a vet in Fl making, (according to him) a couple hundred thousand. Ten years practicing in small animal. He went to Ross cause he couldn't get into Madison. I heard not so great stuff about Ross. Please help my head from spinning.

Members don't see this ad.

The biggest problem you will find with taking pre-reqs is that the majority of schools only offer them during normal business hours which can make the school/work balance quite difficult. Also, online coursework really isnt ideal and pretty much a flat out bad idea if you are intending to apply "everywhere including overseas" as many schools wont accept the online courses.

GRE will be a must for pretty much every schoo.

If you are working full time will you be able to manage accumulating the necessary amount of veterinary and animal related experience? 1000+ hours of veterinary experience seems like the norm around here.

I think the important question to ask is "Why do you want to be a vet?".