Don't know where to start...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shunybuny

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have so many question until I don't know where to start.

I would love to become a clinical or couneling psychologist someday but I have a few concerns. I am in my second year of undergrad with a major in Nursing and a minor in psych. Do I stand a slim chance of getting into a masters program in psych without having field experience?

I have been doing some research on the net on both Clinical and Counseling psych but I still would like to know more about the job market after completing a doctoral program or masters in either field. Could someone suggest where I can find this info? I would love to hear some of the success stories from recent grads.

I have also read that students in doctoral programs compile a huge amount of debt more so Psy.D students over Ph.D something to do with research stipends. :confused: I am not sure how true that is though.

So pleaaasse someone help me out :( :clap: I am really eager to read some of your response.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello....Anybody...:confused:

I'm currently in a clinical psychology program and so I can't tell you much about counselling psych. I believe most clinical psyc programs require a Bachelor's degree in psychology (some even require an Honours degree in psychology). As far as "field experience" is concerned, most programs require RESEARCH experience (e.g. volunteering as research assistant in psychology laboratories, completing an Honours thesis, publications etc). Clinical experience, in contrast, may not be as important.